How Many Drinks Can I have Before I Reach the Legal Limit in Georgia

There is no way to tell how many drinks your body can metabolize without causing an illegally high BAC.  Variables such as weight, body fat percentage, length of time between drinks, etc. can all be relevant factors. Some studies suggest that with each drink, your BAC could rise as much as .05 percent.  Whether or not this conclusion is correct to an exact science is immaterial because it underscores the fact that it takes very little alcohol to become legally drunk. The risks and penalties associated with a DWI/DUI conviction far outweigh any benefits associated with drinking and driving.

For a first DUI conviction in Georgia you could receive up to one year in jail and a fine ranging from $300.00 to $1,000.00. In addition, your driver’s license will be suspended for up to a year and you will receive at least 40 hours of community service. The cost to reinstate your license is $210.00. Drivers that are under 21 must delay obtaining their graduated driver’s license for an additional 12 months.

For a second DUI conviction in Georgia you could receive a mandatory jail sentence of up to a year in jail, a fine of $600.00 up to $1,000.00, and a license suspension for three (3) years and a minimum of thirty (30) days of community service.  You may also have to complete a substance abuse treatment program at your expense and an interlock device could be attached to your vehicle.

For a third DUI conviction in Georgia you could receive up to one year in jail, a fine from $1,000.00 to $5,000.00. Your license could be revoked for five (5) years and you will be required to serve thirty (30) days of community service. Your name, photo, and address will be published in the paper at your expense. You will be declared a “habitual violator” and your license plate will be seized and sent to the DMV. You will receive a clinical evaluation and you will have to complete a substance abuse treatment program and/or an interlock device will be added to your vehicle.

For a fourth DUI conviction within ten (10) years, you will be charged with a felony. As such you will incur a fine of $1,000.00 up to $5,000.00, imprisoned for up to five (5) years, be required to complete a substance abuse program/Risk Reduction Program and/or ordered to complete sixty (60) days of community service.

If you are facing DWI/DUI charges, don’t delay contact a competent and aggressive firm to defend your interests. You have a lot to lose if you are convicted. Make sure your rights are secure. Contact Rouse & Co., LLC immediately for a case evaluation.

Rouse & Co., LLC Attorneys at Law is an established DUI and Criminal Defense Law firm that serves clients in Atlanta, Georgia as well as Snellville, Loganville, Lawrenceville, Lilburn, Suwanee, Duluth, Norcross, Buford, Monroe, Conyers, Convington, Stockbridge, Riverdale, Jonesboro, Fayetteville, Douglasville, Decatur, Doraville, Tucker, Fairburn, College Park, East Point, Peachtree City, Midtown Atlanta, North Atlanta, Buckhead, Marietta, Forest Park, Smyrna, Vinings, Mableton, Union City, Roswell, and Sandy Springs; we serve communities in a variety of counties including but not limited to: Gwinnett County, DeKalb County, Clayton County, Henry County, Newton County, Rockdale County, Walton County, Fayette County, Fulton County, Douglas County, and Cobb County. Call us for immediate legal help at reasonable, fair, and inexpensive prices, cost, and/or fees. 
This entry was posted in DWI | DUI | Georgia Criminal Defense. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.